Hannah Dawn Henderson, Elena Kostenko, Kees van Leeuwen, Karolina Rupp, Tomasz Skibicki, with curatorial support from Yindi Chen and Alexandre Richardeau


11th October

13:00 – 17:00 at Art Bar, Rijnhoutplein (a 2 min. walk from PrintRoom)

During Art Central, the collective opening of galeries in the neighbourhood.

** Due to the current regulations, a maximum of four visitor may enter the space at one time. Wearing a mask is required. 

Towards a Foreword is the first public manifestation of Notes on Hapticity Collective, developed in collaboration with Print Room and presented in the Art Bar on Rijnhoutplein. The collective sets out to be a permeable, nomadic terrain — a travelling forum that is always reconfiguring itself in response to its (digital or real-life) context. It invites diverse interlocutors to present and exchange their research, (his)stories and contemplations.

The word ‘haptic’ denotes a kinaesthetic experience, often used in relation to the experience of touch. However, beyond this immediate connotation, ‘haptic’ can refer to much more. It can also describe the immaterial residual of an event — such as an ever-regurgitating memory or, quite the opposite, a sense of absence, loss, or fracture. It also refers to connectivity and overlaps — an encounter between surfaces and spaces, as much literally as metaphorically. The circumstances of social distancing have prompted us to be more attentive towards exercising touch than ever before. However, how much touches, permeates and moves us without us immediately recognising it? The artworks featured in the exhibition closely examine and even seek to generate a ‘haptic encounter’. 

Parallel to the exhibition, the collective will also launch their first publication, 15 03 20. Created in response to the limitations that the lockdown period placed on the collective’s activities, the publication considers the possibilities for collective practice and making contact with an audience under the ongoing conditions. 

With contributions by: Hannah Dawn Henderson, Elena Kostenko-Lefebvre, Kees van Leeuwen, Grigoris Rizakis, Karolina Rupp, Tomasz Skibicki, Yindi Chen and Alexandre Richardeau

Leave a Reply